Skip to content

Feeling Burned Out And Unproductive? Rejuvenate Away From Work

September 1, 2010

As the co-founder of 2 start-up companies, ComeUnite and TechLaunch, to say my day is busy is an understatement! I am usually wrapped up in a multitude of projects at any given time. My days consist of numerous conference calls, meetings, emails, listening to pitches, writing blogs, reviewing new proposals and meetings with clients. Needless to say, with so many things I need to get done in a day, I have become very good at multitasking. For instance, if I do get the chance to watch TV, I will read email, news, blogs, twitter, and facebook updates during commercial breaks. When I’m hungry, I will eat while working. Now, with such a busy work life I know how important it is to keep myself healthy so I commit to still working out in the gym 3-4 times a week. I’ll workout for an average of 1.5 hours, but you can bet I’ll be checking my blackberry every 10 minutes for any updates.

Over the years I have found that is important to take a break from your work from time to time. You can eliminate getting burned out if you can just disconnect from it all once in while. I mean leave the laptop at home! Disconnect and be aware of your surroundings. If your surroundings are work related…leave! Find somewhere totally unrelated to your business. Put work completely out of your mind. Force yourself to take a vacation. If you can’t take a week, just one day is enough to rejuvenate your mind and body. I will occasionally call some friends to go away and enjoy some outdoor activities. When I do get away for a day or two, I feel energized and I am more productive when I return. It’s a win, win for everybody. I feel better and my business grows because of it!

Burnout is not good for any company. So, if you find yourself feeling overwhelmed or confused by non-productive thoughts and emotion and you have the strong desire to release them, regain clarity and energy, and even experience more inner peace.
Simply ‘taking a break’ will help you return to work ready to tackle all your projects with a clear mind. I find after I return to work after a short time away, the ideas flow with ease and my memory is sharp.

I hope after reading this article you walk away realizing how important it is to rest and take a break from all work related activities. Your body and mind will thank you!

From → Entrepreneurship

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

